The Road To Freedom

DeathtoStock_EnergyandSerenity2

I know I haven’t written a post in a while, but I kind of got stuck in a rut with those posts on Japan. While I really really loved Japan and I wanted to share my experience there with you, this isn’t really a travel blog… I kept feeling as though I’d strayed from what I wanted to achieve here and so I kept putting off posting something new. Part of me thought I needed to see the Japan diary posts through to the end, but another, bigger part of me just didn’t really want to do that right now. Maybe one day I’ll feel motivated again. But now I need to break free from that rut and do something else.

Many things have changed for me over the past year:

  • I lost weight (and put some back on again, then lost it again and now I’m trying not to “yo-yo” back up again… pff.).
  • I stumbled upon some awesome blogs (here, here, and here, and also here – my current favourite) that really helped open up my mind to the kinds of changes I wanted to make in my life.
  • I started this blog, though it did go into hibernation for a while there.
  • I discovered a passion for running. A few weeks ago, I injured my knee in a race, which only made me realise just how important exercising had become to me. I miss it and I can’t wait to get better and do it again.
  • I’m writing again. I completed NaNoWriMo in 2014 and even though I decided not to finish that novel, it did me a lot of good to remind myself exactly what it was about writing that I enjoy.
  • We adopted a second kitten about a month ago. She’s the most adorable thing ever, but we learnt recently that she has Feline Coronavirus, which could mutate into Feline Infectious Peritonitis (FIP) if her immune system weakens too much. FIP is 100% fatal. This is teaching me to be more grateful for the ‘here and now’. Hopefully the virus will never mutate, but no matter what, we’re going to enjoy every single moment we have with her.

But the biggest change of all:

  • I decided to take a leap of faith and quit my job. I couldn’t deal with the stress and negativity anymore. Tuesday will be my last day at the office. I will miss my colleagues a lot and will have to fight hard to combat loneliness (the cats will help), but I already know I won’t miss the hassles of a 7.30am to 4.30pm office job. I’ll be able to eat when I feel hungry, get up and go for a walk when I feel lethargic and make the most of those peaks of productivity whenever they arise. I’ll even be able to go to those elusive mid-morning yoga classes if I want to. But more importantly, I’m going to turn my writing into my source of income. This is what I went to University for. It’s what I’ve wanted since the age of about 12. It’s going to be hard, but I’m going to make it work. And that makes me happy.

This is a short post, but it’s a new beginning of sorts. There are a lot of things I want to talk about on here as I embark on this journey into a completely new lifestyle. ‘Organizing your own schedule as a freelancer’ and ‘the pros and cons of ghost-writing’ are just some of the ideas I’ve had for posts. It’s certainly going to be an interesting (and bumpy) ride.

I really can’t wait. 🙂

4 thoughts on “The Road To Freedom

  1. Pingback: Learning To Get On With It | The Thought Walker

  2. Pingback: A Year in the Life of a Freelance Writer | The Thought Walker

Leave a Reply

